page content

A Tribute to Dr. John Haun

American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)

Wednesday, 29 September 2021, 1:20 p.m.–5:20 p.m.  |  Denver, ColoradoMile High Room 1 - Colorado Convention Center

short course image

Location: In-Person – Colorado Convention Center (Speakers presenting in-person and online)

This panel brings together those positively impacted by Colorado School of Mines professor Dr. Haun.


Thomas Dimelow
Logan MacMillan


John B. Curtis
GeoMark Research

John B. Curtis has worked with GeoMark Research in various capacities since 1996. He is currently responsible for their U.S. and Canadian Rocky Mountain and SCOOP/STACK petroleum system/resource potential studies. He received a B.A. (1970) and M.Sc. (1972) in geology from Miami University and a Ph.D. (1989) in geology from The Ohio State University. He is a licensed Professional Geologist (Wyoming). Curtis was a Minuteman Missile Launch Officer and Instructor Launch Officer in the United States Air Force from 1972-1975.

Dr. Curtis is also Professor Emeritus of Geology and Geological Engineering and past Director, Potential Gas Agency at the Colorado School of Mines (CSM). He was Associate and then Full Professor at CSM from July 1990 until his retirement in June 2016. While at Mines, he supervised graduate student research and taught petroleum geology, petroleum geochemistry and petroleum design. He had 15 years prior experience in the petroleum industry with Texaco, SAIC, Columbia Gas, and Brown & Ruth Laboratories/Baker-Hughes. He served on and chaired several professional society and natural gas industry committees, which included the Supply Panel, Research Coordination Council, and the Science and Technology Committee of the Gas Technology Institute (Gas Research Institute). Curtis co-chaired the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) Committee on Unconventional Petroleum Systems from 1999-2004 and was an invited member of the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission and the AAPG Committee on Resource Evaluation from 1992 until 2014. He was a Counselor to the Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists from 2002-2004 and RMAG delegate to AAPG for nine years. Curtis is a 2019 recipient of the AAPG Distinguished Service Award.

Dr. Curtis was an Associate Editor of the AAPG Bulletin from 1997 – 2010 and continues to review manuscripts for several journals. He has published studies and given numerous invited talks concerning source rock and oil geochemistry, exploration for unconventional reservoirs, and the size and distribution of U.S., and Canadian natural gas resources and comparisons of resource assessment methodologies. As Director of the CSM Potential Gas Agency from 1991 - 2016, he directed a team of 100 volunteer geologists, geophysicists and petroleum engineers for the Potential Gas Committee’s biennial assessment of remaining U.S. natural gas resources. The dedication of the volunteers of the Potential Gas Committee is directly responsible for Dr. Curtis being awarded the 2014 AAPG Public Service award, and the 2016 RMAG Distinguished Public Service to Earth Science award.

Mark Doelger
B&H Geologists

Mark Doelger is a registered professional geologist with over 47 years of experience in the energy field. He currently is president of B & H, Geologists, a partner in Stakeholder Energy LLC, and president of the Upper Green River Conservancy.

Mark is the author and co-author of numerous technical presentations and publications, including the Atlas of Major Rocky Mountain Natural Gas Reservoirs. He has testified as an expert before the U. S. Senate, several State Legislatures, and federal and state regulatory bodies.

Mark has advised five Wyoming governors on energy policy matters. He served as chairman of the Wyoming Pipeline Authority and acting chairman of the Wyoming Oil and Gas Conservation Commission. He was appointed to the Wyoming Energy Resources Council in 2020, which oversees academic and research priorities at the University of Wyoming School Of Energy Resources.

He is past president of the Wyoming Geological Association where he received an award for “achievement in the science and technology of geology”. Mark received the Public Service Award from the AAPG in 2011. He has been a Trustee of the Wyoming Chapter of The Nature Conservancy since 2011. He is a past board member of numerous organizations, including the Wyoming Business Alliance.

Paul Weimer
University of Boulder

Paul holds the Paul Rady Endowed Chair in the Department of Geological Sciences at the University of Colorado Boulder. He was the 2020 recipient of the Sidney Powers Medal. He will serve as the President of the American Geosciences Institute in 2021-2022.

Chuck Schultz
Tim Barshe
Hershel Ferguson
Wilson Herrod
Charles Berg
Don Warner

Geological Engineer Colorado School of Mines (CSM)-1956, MS Geology CSM-1961, PhD University of California Berkeley-1964

Employed by: Gulf Oil 1956, California Exploration Company 1957-58, CSM Graduate Teaching Assistant 1959-61, U. California Research Assistant 1961-63, U.S. Federal Water Pollution Administration (EPA) Research Geologist and Engineer 1964-1969, University of Missouri Rolla-Professor Geological Engineering 1969-1992, Dean School of Mines and Metallurgy 1981-1992, Professor Emeritus 1992-present.

Awards from: National Water Well Association M. K. Hubbard Award-1984, CSM Distinguished Achievement Award-2007, Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award-2018

Jim Applegate
Al Geyer

Al Geyer: CSM: 1964 Geological Engineering; 1978 Mineral Economics MS coursework; Security and Exchange Commission Series 7 Stockbroker’s license 1985 and Series 63 & 65 licenses 1987; International Petroleum Consultant, 1976-present; President of Geo-Engineering International, Ltd. Tulsa, OK and Denver, CO 1980-1995; 1964-1976 Geologist, Engineer and Manager

Author & Lecturer: Numerous published financial and petroleum industry articles. Developed and presented courses on geology, geophysics and engineering to foreign government scientists. Member: Emeritus member – AAPG (#128474) and RMAG (#759) Past member – Tulsa Geologic Society

Thomas Dimelow
Samson Resources

CSM: 1966 Geologic Engineer ; 1973 MS Geology; Employed by Amoco, Coseka Resources, CNG, TOTAL Sampson Resources, CDX Gas & Genesis Gas & Oil Partners; presently involved in numerous charitable & academic organizations.

Logan McMillan
Independant Consultant

CSM: 1973, BS, Geol.Eng.; 1975, MS, Geol. Employed by numerous oil & gas E&P companies/entities: 1975-2012, working primarily Rockies. Former member of numerous professional geoscience & engineering societies – regional – international scope. Awarded by local, regional & national geoscience groups for career public service..


A Tribute to Dr. John Haun
Colorado Convention Center
700 14th St
Denver, Colorado 80202
United States

contact header




page bottom space